Mow Your Way To Success…

lawnmowerFrom the time I was a Freshman in High School up until I was a Junior, I had always wanted to run for Student Council President. I thought about it all the time.

I remember I was mowing our next door neighbors yard on our family riding lawn mower. This was one of 6 yards that I mowed on a weekly basis starting at the age of 10.  As I was riding around on this riding mower, I would hear self talk about why I shouldn’t run for Student Council President. I would then make excuses for why I would never win. After about an hour of this negative self-talk I realized that there was no reason I shouldn’t go for it.

As the thought of doing this grew I began to get excited and I imagined myself in front the entire student body giving my first Speech as the New Student Council President.  It was right then that I made the decision that I was going to go for it because I didn’t want to wonder ” What If ”

How many times in our lives do we let self doubt and negative talk come in and we talk ourselves right out of dreams that we have because we are afraid of failing ?  How many times in your life have you said ” I wish I would had…..”

My decision to run for Student Council President was successful – I won against 3 other worthy candidates who could have easily done a good job. What transpired from this decision in 1979 ? After being elected as Student Council President, giving talks throughout the year, speaking to the National Student Council Association in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and going on to speaking to groups and organizations it has also opened doors by this ONE decision to allow me to help other people by having a Radio Show where people can discuss their past, how they have overcome their struggles and many other things that today has beyond belief.

Because of this decision, I was able to be a Facilitator for a Non-Profit organization where I was able to help hundreds of people over the course of a 5 year spam to overcome their past through some very intense and heart moving exercises and empower other people to use their past to help other people.

Who would have thought that simply mowing a yard would lead to many events in my life that I will never regret or forget.

What is it that you really want to do but your talking your own self out of it ?  Remember, the only way to fail is to quit….don’t quit – if there is something that you want….GO FOR IT ! Don’t wake up one day and think ” I wish I would had……”

About robertjrussellcompanies

International Real Estate Agent * Insurance Broker * Radio Talk Show Host * Public Speaker * find out about me - visit http://www.robertjrussellcompanies.com
This entry was posted in Business, Speaking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

